Administrator Guide

Convert Task to Interaction

This feature presents the user with the choice to create an Interaction once a Task is marked status “Complete”.

Once the user changes the Task Status to “Complete”, a Quick Action window prompt to create an Interaction appears:

This feature is turned off by default.

To enable, two steps are required. This option uses the ‘copy-down’ function to copy Task Details to the Interaction. Additionally, an Advanced Flex Setting also needs to be added to turn on the feature.

The first step is to configure the Interaction New Form so that the Task details will copy up to the Interaction.

  1. Complete a Task, either from the Task Display or using the Quick Actions icon in the Recently Viewed in the Menu:

  2. From the Quick Actions pane, select “Create Interaction”:

  3. This will launch the New Form (Interaction). Use either the (1) Quick Edit Icon or (2) Page Edit Menu to open FlexNewEditForm Properties:

  4. Scroll down to the “Copy Down” section. Enter the field name(s) that should be copied down from Task record to the new Interaction [each field is on its own line as shown below]. Then click “OK”.

  5. If an existing “details” Copy Down value has been entered (to copy Details from an Opportunity to an Interaction, for example) the following values should be added in order for the system to differentiate between multiple [Details] fields:

[Details]=[Body]
[Details]=[Details]

The Copy Down feature in Flex recognizes the values in the order they are entered, so if the Interaction is being created directly from a Task, it will recognize the “Body” value - which is actually the internal name for the “Details” column for a Task.

If the Interaction is being created directly from an Opportunity, the system will not recognize this value (the Opportunity List does not have a “Body” column) so it skips to the next line and finds “Details”.

(Refer to the “Copy Down” section of this Guide for further information.)

  1. Add the following Advanced Flex Setting to turn on the feature:

Setting Name: InteractionPromptAfterTaskCompletion
Setting Value: True (default is false)

  1. Be sure to Reset the Application Cache after adding or modifying Advanced Settings.

Was this helpful?