This “Move Account” feature addresses the business situation where a user has created a new Account and added related items to it, perhaps a Task, Opportunity or uploaded several documents, but the new Account is actually a duplicate of an existing Account.
Use the “Move Items” feature, which appears ONLY on the Action Bar of the Account Display, to copy all of the details from a newly created Account to another existing Account.
Once the Setting is added (see below) simply click the “Move Items” link on the Action Bar of the Account Display page.
Search for the name of the Account to move the items to and select it from the resulting list.
Once all the Account items are moved the original Account is deleted (unless the check mark was removed from this screen which follows from the one above).
This function will move all the related child items including documents. There is no option to select which related items to move.
The system will tell you how many items were moved.
By clicking OK in the above screen, you will be now resting on the Account that the items were moved to as the original Account was deleted (unless the check mark was removed).
The Move Items icon is only seen by Full Control or Administrator users. Contribute users will not see the icon and, therefore, cannot use this feature.
Configuring
Add the following line to the “AccountsActionBarItems” Advanced Flex Setting List:
Move[br]Items|embedded|moveitems